Pack Special: The Changers

The Changers was my first attempt at writing a story about wolves. More than five years ago, I wrote this story after a dream involving myself shape-shifting into a wolf. I gave up on it and moved a different genre, but now, five years later, I’ve come back to it and am drastically rewriting and changing it into the serial story called Pack.

Without further ado, here we go. I present “The Changers”. I will be posting it in two parts: One now, the other later on in the month.

 

Chapter 1: The Revealing

“Devin!”

Through the mist of his dream a sharp face loomed. Moving shakily he advanced through the haze of his dream to the sound.

“Awake.” The voice was deep and controlled, yet it held an excitement so wild it was indescribable.

“W-who are you?”

A creature jumped to the top of a shaggy crag. It stared at him before answering. Devin felt a chill run through his body.

“I am Myself, and you!”

 

Devin awoke with a start, the voice still echoing in his mind. He whispered to himself, just a dream, just a dream…

His eyes snapped open and he scanned the room. His gaze fell on the window. The curtains flapping, it allowed the frigid wind to enter the room. Puzzled, he walked over and shut it.

I know I closed it

Suddenly he heard a floorboard creek. As he spun around to face the sound a well-aimed kick threw him to the floor. He shook his head and the fog cleared, just in time to see a gloved fist heading toward his head.

The assault whizzed harmlessly over his skull as he ducked. His eyes, beginning to adjust to the dark saw flash of movement. He tried to move away but he was too slow, and the boot connected, Devin heard an evil laugh before he was blasted into oblivion. Into the dark…

 

He was floating, images whirling in a never-ending hurricane. His school, his mom, the face… Wait

The face from his dream. He mentally leafed through the images, searching, searching.

There He drew it closer, it became clearer, growing into a… What?

Abruptly the images dissolved, devoured by the growing light. Everything growing out of focus, Devin slipped into the glow…

 

“Is he awake?”

“Yes, just give him a minute.”

Devin awoke to the sound of a constant beeping. He blinked, trying to clear his eyes. He opened his mouth, only to find it was dry. Through glazed eyes he faintly saw a figure bending over him.

Suddenly the night’s proceedings came flashing back, filling him with a wild panic. Flailing his arms, he screamed,

“Don’t touch me!”

As he struggled to rise, he found himself held to the cot by strong hands. While his vision cleared, he continued to struggle. But the hand’s strength greatly outmatched his own, and Devin found it was useless to resist. He allowed himself to lie back and for the first time he noticed a needle in his arm.

The hands lessened their hold, and a deep voice chided him,

“Calm down, you are in a hospital, can you understand me?”

Devin took a deep breath, and let it out before he answered.

“Yes, I understand.” Devin closed his eyes and relaxed as the voice continued.

“I am Dr. Retland, and you are in Grace Community Hospital. Please can you tell me your name and what happened to you,” Dr. Retland adjusted his glasses and pulled up a clipboard.

Devin sighed, “My name is Devin and I don’t know what happened. Some guy broke into our house and hit me and then everything went black.”

He didn’t mention the face, whatever it was. He tried to sit up but a wave of nausea washed over him. He fell back, darkness eating at the edge of his vision. He strained into his memory, trying to remember… Then it came to him. It was a…

Wolf

And then he knew no more…

About bandersontps

I write. I read. I think. I am an aspiring writer, poet, and reader. First I am a writer of fantasy and fiction. Second I am a thinker and a poet. I was born in 1995, and from a young age have wanted to be a writer. I'm making progress. Check out my writing blog at worldpen.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Pack: The Serial Story. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pack Special: The Changers

What do you think?

