The Arena 100% done (the first draft, at least)…

UPDATE: “The Arena”, aka “Footfalls of Power” is now done. At least the first draft.

 

So now if anyone wants to trudge through forty thousand words of blood, sweat, and tears (not really) they can. I plan to edit over these next few months and get in submitting shape. Then I’ll send it off to a couple of the very few publishers that actually do novellas and see what happens.

 

Anyway, so if anyone wants to volunteer to edit or just read and give me a few comments, I’d appreciate it.

 

Here’s the pitch I’ve worked out:

 

Every year, hundreds of young men and women participate in the right-of-passage event known as the Arena Week. Within the Arena budding men and women compete for the right to court the person of their choice. The choices made in the Arena shape the rest of their lives, one way or the other.

 

And they compete using the Dances, traditional movements and songs that channel power and allow the dancer to wield them. It is a contest of skill, determination, stamina, and cunning. But it was never truly dangerous.

 

Until now.

 

When Tandika discovers his unique Totem and his fellow dancers come under the attack of a forgotten enemy, they are drawn into a conflict far bigger than they had imagined existed. From the peaceful banks of the river to the sand of the Arena they fight the deadly silent dancers, pitting their dances of power against those of the wizards.  But their dances are not enough, and the lure of the Silent Dances is strong.

 

And to use the Silent Dances is death.

 

If you’re willing to take a look at it, just comment or send me an email. 

About bandersontps

I write. I read. I think. I am an aspiring writer, poet, and reader. First I am a writer of fantasy and fiction. Second I am a thinker and a poet. I was born in 1995, and from a young age have wanted to be a writer. I'm making progress. Check out my writing blog at worldpen.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Arena 100% done (the first draft, at least)…

  1. Paulina Czarnecki says:

    Sounds interesting 🙂

  2. destinyanne says:

    Hey Brevin! I’d love to read it, and if you don’t mind occasional rambling, I could comment as well. Could you send it to me via email?

What do you think?

