Footfalls of Power/Arena at 98%

Well, it’s about a month later.

I am now at about 38,000 words for my novella and almost to the final scene. I have maybe a week at max before the first draft is finished. Then I have to edit it (or find someone to do it for me…any takers?).

Now for an except.

The whole group was silent. Nyle, his eyes ablaze, turned to the goateed Jaha. He reached out his hand toward him, his intent obvious. But the Jahas, as one, danced and called out a song. It was the Dance of Embers. Though it could summon but weak fire, the combined power of five Jahas at close range was more than enough to end Nyle’s life.

It was snuffed out in flame. Nyle’s body, blackened and sizzling from the fire, fell backwards to lie beside Juma and the dead Jaha.

Nakeera gritted her teeth. Tandika felt sick. Juma, lying of the ground, scrambled to his feet, putting distance between himself and the two bodies. The burns on Nyle look nearly identical to those on Juma’s neck and face. He unconsciously touched them, running his hands over his deformity.

The goateed Jaha was kneeling beside the bodies. “They are dead,” he said, his voice weighed with sadness. The man stood, his eyes closed. “We have a law,” the man stated, “that is that if anyone, dancer or Jaha, uses the silent dances, they are to die.”

Juma nodded, his eyes still on the bodies. 

And that’s all for now. Expect updates on NaNoWriMo as it comes on like a thief in the night.

It’s almost here!

 

About bandersontps

I write. I read. I think. I am an aspiring writer, poet, and reader. First I am a writer of fantasy and fiction. Second I am a thinker and a poet. I was born in 1995, and from a young age have wanted to be a writer. I'm making progress. Check out my writing blog at worldpen.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Footfalls of Power/Arena at 98%

  1. eeatontps says:

    thief in the night. true. I’m not even officially signed up yet. thanks for the reminder of worldpen, I’ve found that blog quite helpful. and i’m always ready to read/critique fascinating fantasy but my life is insane right now…XD maybe in December. Also, no fair with the excerpts. i can never help trying to figure out the context
    –Esther

What do you think?

