Novelette

Got a few more rejections for various stories.

I started a new novelette. I don’t have a title yet, but I’ll release it when I do.

Here’s an excerpt.

 

Feet pounded bare earth, thumping it with a powerful rhythm. The ground shook and small puffs of dust rose from its surface, coating sweaty skin with its dry covering.

Tandika leapt, flying high into the air. He came back down, and spun, keeping the rhythm, keeping the beat. His companions, boys of his own age, leapt and pounded with him. They were learning the Dance of the Earth.

His short hair bleached white from the intense sun, sweat dripping from his face, Tandika leapt again, reaching and greater height. The ground beneath him seemed to catch him, easing his fall. One of the others with him stumbled and fell. The earth did not receive him.

Pounding again. The dust the broiled all around them was cool. Tandika closed his eyes, losing himself in the dance. His legs, though burning, were still his to control. The ground helped him, smoothing bumps and pushing him high into the air when he jump.

They were nearing the end of the Dance. Tandika joined the singing. There were no words. It was sounds. Groanings, soft calls that floated low over the ground, great shouts like the cracking of stone. It was the voice of the Earth.

All around him his fellow dancers sang, learning the words. Off to the side a man stood, his grey hair betraying his age. He chanted the sounds of the song, leading the group.

Leap. Land. Pound. Fall, crawl. Jump up. Shout. Final leap. Higher than before, higher than possible. Then land, the earth bending to catch him. The Dance was over. 

About bandersontps

I write. I read. I think. I am an aspiring writer, poet, and reader. First I am a writer of fantasy and fiction. Second I am a thinker and a poet. I was born in 1995, and from a young age have wanted to be a writer. I'm making progress. Check out my writing blog at worldpen.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

